• Option Asia
  • Posts
  • Countries woo wealthy expats and top talent through visa schemes

Countries woo wealthy expats and top talent through visa schemes

Countries are Releasing Strategic Visas to Attract Wealthy Foreigners and Global Talent

Nomads in Bali meet up at a coworking space.

Countries are Releasing Strategic Visas to Attract Wealthy Foreigners and Global Talent

  • Bali is allowing tourists to live in Bali for 10 years to those with at least $130,00 USD in their bank accounts. This "second home visa" is an initiative to attract wealthy global citizens for long term stays.

  • Singapore introduced “a five-year visa for people earning at least S$30,000 ($21,445 USD) a month that allows holders to hold multiple jobs and give spouses eligibility to work,” quotes Reuters.

  • Hong Kong has a Top Talent Pass Scheme. It will allow those earning an annual salary of 2.5 million Hong Kong dollars ($318,472 USD) or above and graduates from the world's top universities to work or pursue opportunities in the city for two years.

Great Sites to Keep Up with Tech & Startup News in Asia

  • Vietcetera - a media site connecting Vietnam to the rest of the world through its startup, lifestyle, and travel news

  • KoreaTechDesk - latest news on private equity (PE), venture capital (VC), inbound & outbound deals, IPOs, mergers and acquisitions (M&A), and Korean startup ecosystem

  • Tech in Asia - one of the more popular media sites that focuses on Asia's startup ecosystem; a media, events, and jobs platform for Asia's tech communitiesCassie Gallegos

Opportunities Abroad

What Remote Working in Taipei has Been Like

It's been a week since I got to Taipei and I'm settling into a more structured schedule. Yesterday, I took a bus down a street (仁愛路), counting the 7/11s and Family Marts on every other block. Clutching the bus handle, I watch motorcyclists effortlessly weave through traffic. I hop off the bus at 8:30 AM and pop into a bakery to buy my favorite bread 菠蘿包. It costs $1 USD.

I get into DoubleR coworking space—the manager buzzes me in and I'm the only remote worker there for the entire day, while two other office workers come in around 10 AM. It's $13 USD for a day pass and $6 for a private meeting room; the wifi is strong. I skip lunch and spend the next hours completing a podcast, writing, researching data privacy events, and working with my video editor. In a given day, I could be talking to 20 different people, but I prefer just focusing on deep work sometimes.

At 5 PM, my mother meets me at the space and we walk to 通化夜市, a street of good eats where shops line side by side, lanterns don across the darkening sky, and hordes of students in matching uniforms order from stalls. I smell stinky tofu wafting down the street, and of course, I have to have some. We sit down and the taste of it brings me back to Saturday Chinese School in Los Angeles where a fair was held and local vendors came to sell.

It's nice to be back in Taiwan.

Like my content? Follow Emily on social media

I'm also doing a content sprint on Instagram if you want to follow along my adventures in video format. Disclaimer: like always, do your due diligence and research as programs change. All content and information in this newsletter is for informational and educational purposes only.

Join the conversation

or to participate.